New York | New York

IMAG0064 copy IMAG0065 copy IMAG0066 copy IMAG0067 copy

So.. two of my colleagues are going to New York City. One for the first time, one for the second. I am so excited for them! But just talking to them both about what to see and do reminds me of when I use to live there many years ago. I lived first in Manhattan in Chelsea, and second in Hoboken on the Jersey side of the Hudson. I worked in Soho, and went out in the Lower East Side, Meatpacking District, and ate dinner in Greenwich village.

I never gave New York much of a chance, at first. I came to New York directly from London, and I missed London so much that it made me miserable. I use to cry on weekends and visit my local deli man for chocolate. I was super depressed in the great city. My only saving grace was my weekend runs down the Hudson River to Battery Park, where I would sit in the sunshine and look at the water thinking – you’re out there somewhere England!

I could go back now.  I remember fondly Highline walks, sushi, dumplings in China Town, old wine bars, the open air that was Central Park, great restaurants, and bars, and even better walks. It is so easy to overlook these things when you are there and dreaming of another city, but I think I did New York a major disservice.

So above are some photos from my time there – riverside drinks and kayaking on hot, sun-filled days! I do miss it – sometimes. x

Leave a Reply

